Who works off shore?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who works off shore?

Work is going down hill fast atm, 6 people have been layed off this week, theyve cut my overtime down to zero, and its not getting any better

Ive been trying to get int the offshore industry for ages now but havent really pushed it, but i think i need to now

What im wondering is who works on the riggs or in the turbines and as what? I ideally want to get out there as a fitter/mechanic or a welder if i can.

Ive got nvq qulifications as a plant mechanic and welding, but im not coded. Im currently fixing cranes and have been for the last 6 years since i was 15 so ive got plenty of experience in diesel fitting. But i can weld, use a laythe, milling machine and fabricate pretty much anything.

Just wondering what chances have i got of getting on anything? and who do i need to talk to or email?

Any help will be great

I work as a roughneck, although on the Norwegian sector. My experience is that relevant practice is the most important when applying. Be alert about vacancies, but the industry is a bit on the down side now. But is expected to get better soon. You could try to apply at Songa Offshore. I know they have plenty of UK employees and you get to work on the Norwegian sector. Better rotation and better pay.

Hope this helps some

Comment

gaz why not go on your own ??????????

or try here http://www.mantonhire.com/stock.htm
      fire your cv off as its worth a try. he has some lazy bastards working for him and your a grafter arn't ya mailto: petergrindey@btconnect.com

Comment

Cheers Tore, is that who you work for? That looks the type of career i want to move towards. Also what sort of rota do you work, weeks on off ecs, and if you dont mind me askin whats the pay like as a roughneck? ive been told the easiest way is to start at the bottom and work up, i got told the bottom is a roustabout?